You will now be needing ETIAS if you are visiting Countries belonging to Schengen Border

Schengen Map consists of 26 European countries that act as a single jurisdiction for travel purposes being a part of one border. They have officially ended the requirement of all passport and any other type of border protection or control at their mutual borders. It is the policy of the European Union and the Schengen Border countries have open boundary area.


The 26 countries falling under the Schengen Border Area are namely, Spain, Denmark, Italy, Sweden, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Finland, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland. The Schengen Border has a population of 400 million.

There are a total of 60 countries in the world that do not need a visa to enter the European countries that also includes countries belonging to the Schengen Border Area.

Since the whole area acts a single jurisdiction for travel purpose, the latest visa-waiver system will be applied to all the 26 countries.

The European Union is soon launching a new visa-waiver system called the ETIAS. ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System.

It is not a visa but a new visa waiver system that is going to be in action from 1st January 2021. The proposal has already passed in the month of November in 2018 but they will be applied from the beginning of 2021.

ETIAS are only mandatory for the people who were earlier allowed to travel in these European Countries without having to acquire their visa.

These countries include New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and the United States. But now Europe has a new travel authorization system for these citizens.

People who always needed a visa to visit these countries belonging to the Schengen Border area or Europe will remain unaffected with the launch of this new visa-waiver system. The travel procedure will be the same for them as earlier.

Recommended News:

ETIAS will permit you to stay in any of these European countries for a period of three months without having your visa. They can only be used to stay in these countries if you are visiting with the purpose of travel, business, transit or medical. However, you can not use your ETIAS to stay on the continent for job or education purpose.

Everyone traveling Europe will be needing ETIAS regardless of age. Meaning that minors (children below the age of 18) and old age people above the age of 70 will also have to apply for their individual visa. To apply for ETIAS you must visit the official site and fill out an application form. The form with all your basic details, after submitting the form you will receive the decision within minutes about your ETIAS.

To apply for ETIAS you must have a valid passport. One can not apply for ETIAS without a passport. The validity of the ETIAS will be three years and it will allow you to stay in the continent for three months at once in the European nations.